The Stanford Faculty

Stanford faculty are leaders in their fields with their accomplishments recognized across the disciplines. Faculty work closely with students and conduct groundbreaking research. Today, Stanford has 2,240 members of the professoriate faculty. There are 629 members appointed to endowed professorships.

Stanford’s current community of scholars includes:

  • 17 Nobel laureates
  • 32 MacArthur Fellows
  • 4 National Humanities Medal recipients
  • 4 Pulitzer Prize winners
  • 13 National Medal of Science recipients
  • 1 National Medal of Technology recipients
  • 281 American Academy of Arts and Sciences members
  • 161 National Academy of Sciences members
  • 109 National Academy of Engineering members
  • 74 National Academy of Medicine members
  • 25 National Academy of Education members
  • 47 American Philosophical Society members
  • 5 Wolf Foundation Prize winners
  • 2 Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients
  • 1 National Medal of Arts winner

Nobel Laureates

Thirty-one Stanford faculty have won the Nobel Prize since the university’s founding. Nineteen Nobel laureates are currently members of the Stanford community. For more details, please visit ourĀ Stanford Nobel Prize website.

Pulitzer Prize Winners

  • Adam Johnson
    2013, Fiction
  • David M. Kennedy
    2000, History
  • Jack Rakove
    1997, History
  • James Risser
    1976, 1979, National Reporting

Last updated