Skip to main content

University Administration

Stanford University is a trust with corporate powers under the laws of the State of California. The university is a tax-exempt entity under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code.

Under the provisions of the Founding Grant, the Board of Trustees (with a maximum membership of 38) is custodian of the endowment and all the properties of Stanford University. The board administers the invested funds, sets the annual budget and determines policies for operation and control of the university. Among the powers given to the trustees by the Founding Grant is the power to appoint a president. The board delegates broad authority to the president to operate the university and to the faculty on certain academic matters. The formal legal name is “The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University.” Visit

Board of Trustees

effective February 1, 2021

For information and updates from the Board of Trustees, visit

  • Felix J. Baker, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Baker Brothers Investments, New York, NY
  • Aneel Bhusri, Co-Founder & CEO, Workday, San Francisco, CA
  • DeAngela J. Burns-Wallace, Secretary of Administration & CITO, State of Kansas, Topeka, KS
  • Michael C. Camuñez, President & CEO, Monarch Global Strategies LLC, Los Angeles, CA
  • Michelle R. Clayman, Managing Partner & Chief Investment Officer, New Amsterdam Partners LLC, New York, NY
  • RoAnn Costin, President, Wilderness Point Investments, Cambridge, MA
  • Roberta B. Denning, Greenwich, CT
  • Katharine B. Duhamel, San Francisco, CA
  • Henry A. Fernandez, Chairman and CEO, MSCI Inc., New York, NY
  • Angela S. Filo, Co-Founder, Yellow Chair Foundation, Palo Alto, CA
  • Sakurako D. Fisher, San Francisco, CA
  • James D. Halper, Executive Chairman, Owl Rock Opportunities Fund, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ronald B. Johnson, Founder & CEO, Enjoy, Menlo Park, CA
  • Marc E. Jones, Chairman & CEO, Aeris, San Jose, CA
  • Tonia G. Karr, San Francisco, CA
  • Sarah H. Ketterer, CEO, Causeway Capital, Los Angeles, CA
  • Carol C. Lam, Attorney, La Jolla, CA
  • Kenneth E. Olivier, Chairman Emeritus, Dodge and Cox, San Francisco, CA
  • Carrie W. Penner, Chair of the Board, Walton Family Foundation, Aspen, CO
  • Laurene Powell Jobs, Founder/President, Emerson Collective, Palo Alto, CA
  • Jeffrey S. Raikes, Co-Founder, The Raikes Foundation, Seattle, WA
  • Mindy B. Rogers, Atherton, CA
  • Victoria B. Rogers, President, Rose Hills Foundation, Pasadena, CA
  • Lily Sarafan, CEO, Home Care Assistance, San Francisco, CA
  • Srinija Srinivasan, Palo Alto, CA
  • Jeffrey E. Stone, Chairman Emeritus and Senior Partner, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, Chicago IL
  • Gene T Sykes, Global Co-Head of M&A & Chairman, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • Elizabeth H. Weatherman, Special Limited Partner, Warburg Pincus, LLC, New York, NY
  • Maurice C. Werdegar, CEO, WTI, Portola Valley, CA
  • Jerry Yang, AME Cloud Ventures, Palo Alto, CA
  • Charles D. Young, Chief Operating Officer, Invitation Homes, Dallas, TX

Stanford Administration

  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President
  • Persis Drell, Provost
  • Ryan Adesnik, Vice President for Government Affairs
  • Susie Brubaker-Cole, Vice Provost for Student Affairs
  • Jon Denney, Vice President for Development
  • Stephanie Kalfayan, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
  • Michael Keller, Vice Provost and University Librarian
  • Farnaz Khadem, Vice President for University Communications
  • Randall S. Livingston, Vice President for Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer
  • Megan Pierson, Chief of Staff to the President and Secretary of the Board of Trustees
  • Robert Reidy, Vice President for Land, Buildings and Real Estate
  • Martin Shell, Vice President and Chief External Relations Officer
  • Matthew Snipp, Vice Provost for Faculty Development, Diversity and Engagement
  • Robert Wallace, Chief Executive Officer, Stanford Management Company
  • Timothy Warner, Vice Provost for Budget and Auxiliaries
  • Howard Wolf, Vice President for Alumni Affairs and President, Stanford Alumni Association
  • Elizabeth Zacharias, Vice President for Human Resources
  • Debra Zumwalt, Vice President and General Counsel

Executive Cabinet

  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President
  • Persis Drell, Provost
  • Stacey Bent, Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Postdoctoral Affairs
  • Sarah Church, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Stephan Graham, Dean, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences
  • Chi-Chang Kao, Director, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Jonathan Levin, Dean, Graduate School of Business
  • Jenny S. Martinez, Dean, School of Law
  • Lloyd Minor, Dean, School of Medicine
  • Kathryn Ann “Kam” Moler, Vice Provost and Dean of Research and Vice President, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Condoleezza Rice, Director, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace
  • Debra Satz, Dean, School of Humanities & Sciences
  • Dan Schwartz, Dean, Graduate School of Education
  • Jennifer Widom, Dean, School of Engineering

Last updated